Skip to Content search facebook instagram pinterest twitter youtube


Stacked white foldersOur Board is responsible for strategic direction and overseeing the management of Funds SA; comprising seven directors, each brings diverse corporate experience and skill sets.  

Paul Laband 2Mr Paul Laband

Paul Laband has worked extensively in investment management and asset consulting throughout his professional career, bringing significant leadership skills and portfolio and investment experience to the Funds SA Board.

Mr Laband has held management positions across the investment management and asset consulting sector. He served as Managing Director of National Asset Management, Head of Asset Consulting at both Towers Perrin Australia and Russell Investment Group (Australia), and as the Managing Director of Abbey Life Investment Services in the UK. At UniSuper, he held senior roles including Head of Public Markets (listed asset classes both domestically and globally) and Head of Strategic Tilting.

He is currently also serving on the Investment Committee of Telstra Super.

Dr Bill GriggsDr Bill Griggs, AM, ASM

Bill Griggs has significant leadership and board experience, with highly developed skills in corporate governance, people and culture, superannuation, investment, and insurance.

Dr Griggs is widely respected in government and the private sector and is also known for his military and medical experience as a trauma specialist. As a result of his extensive career, he has been able to share his experience in managing and coping during times of uncertainty and stress, and in evidence-based decision making.  

He has held several Board and Chair positions in government and the not-for-profit sectors and is currently serving as a Director of Griggs EMS Pty Ltd, Director and Member of HR and Finance Committees of ReturnToWorkSA, Director of Super SA, and Director of Southern Select Super Corporation.    

Chris HallMr Christopher Hall

Christopher Hall was appointed to the Funds SA Board in October 2021 and brings extensive knowledge and expertise in investment and funds management, gained through 30 years professional experience in the industry.

During his career he has held a range of senior portfolio management and business leadership roles in Australia and Asia with National Asset Management, Goldman Sachs JB Were, Argo Investments and Blackrock Asset Management. Mr Hall has an extensive background in asset management, with a strong investment performance track record and success in managing investment teams.

Mr Hall is currently Chief Investment Officer of Ellerston Capital, Chairman of the Investment Committee at Perks Private Wealth and member of the Investment Committee of the Prince Alfred College Foundation.

Jane JeffreysMs Jane Jeffreys

Jane Jeffreys is a long-standing company director, working principally in her career with boards and senior executives to address strategic business issues. She has significant board, executive and consulting experience across the public, private and not-for-profit sectors.

Ms Jeffreys has a strong background in corporate strategy, financial management, people and culture, technology, marketing, and communications.

She is currently also a Director of Jane Jeffreys Consulting and Iocane Pty Ltd, and Chair of the West Beach Trust, Chair of Gaming Care, and Chair of Data Action Pty Ltd.

Kathryn PresserMs Kathryn Presser

Kathryn Presser has extensive experience across the financial, risk and strategic planning sectors. Over 18 years, she served in finance executive roles at Beach Energy, also attaining widespread company secretarial experience in publicly listed and private companies across several industries.

Serving as a company director for several organisations has provided Ms Presser broad governance and legislative experience. Her current directorships also include Amaero International Ltd, KP Advisory Pty Ltd, Police Credit Union SA & NT, and the South Australian Government Financing Authority.

Ms Presser sits on the University of Adelaide Council and the Council of Governors for the Walford Anglican School for Girls. She is also the Independent Chair of the Department of Treasury and Finance Risk and Performance Committee.

Judith SmithMs Judith Smith

Judith Smith has had a strong governance and risk focus throughout her career, with extensive knowledge and experience in funds management.

Ms Smith has worked in senior investment management roles in the funds management industry where she has been responsible for evaluating and investing in listed and unlisted companies.

Ms Smith serves as a Committee Member on the South Australian Venture Capital Fund, Non-Executive Director of Universal Biosensors Inc and Chair of the Audit and Risk committee, Non-Executive Director of LUCRF Trustees and Chair of the Investment Committee, Non-Executive Director of the Acorn Capital Investment Fund Ltd and Chair of the Risk and Audit Committee and Honorary Role within the Breast Cancer Trials Finance and Audit Committee.

Leah YorkMs Leah York

Leah York was appointed to the Board upon the nomination of the South Australian Government Superannuation Federation. As the representative of public sector employees, Ms York brings a depth of superannuation member knowledge and insight.

Ms York is also a Deputy Director of the Super SA Board (and the Southern Select Superannuation Corporation Board), which administers South Australian Government agency and statutory authority superannuation schemes.

Ms York is President of the South Australian Public Sector Superannuation Federation, Australian Education Union SA Branch Secretary, and a Member of Super SA’s Member Services Council.