Funds SA Directors

Funds SA Directors

Paul Laband

  • Chair of the Board, Chair of the Human Resources Committee and member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
  • Funds SA Director since April 2016.
  • Paul Laband brings to the Board significant portfolio and investment experience from a career in investment management and asset consulting.  His former roles which include, head of National Asset Management (NAM), Towers Perrin, Russell Investment Group Asset Consulting (Australia) and Abbey Life Investment Services in the UK, along with his most recent management roles at UniSuper as Head of Public Markets (listed asset classes both domestically and globally) and subsequently Head of Strategic Tilting, contribute to his role on the Funds SA Board.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Member of Investment Committees for Telstra Super and the Salvation Army (Southern Territory) and a Board Observer at ReturnToWorkSA.

Bill Griggs

  • Director and member of the Human Resources Committee.
  • Funds SA member-elected Director since October 2018.
  • Bill Griggs brings to the Board significant leadership and board experience; with expertise in corporate governance, people and culture, superannuation, investment, and insurance. He has a particular interest in managing/coping during times of uncertainty, and in evidence-based decision making.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Chair, Motor Accident Commission; Director and member of Investment and HR committees, Return to Work SA; Director and Chair of Member Services Committee, Super SA; Director, Southern Select Super Corporation Board; Director, Griggs EMS Pty Ltd.

Jane Jeffreys

  • Director and member of the Human Resources Committee.
  • Funds SA Director since December 2015.
  • Jane Jeffreys brings to the Board extensive board, executive and consulting experience in the public, private and not for profit sectors. She has expertise and understanding of Strategy, Financial Management, People and Culture, Technology, Marketing and Communication.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Director of Jane Jeffreys Consulting; Chair of the West Beach Trust; Chair of Gaming Care; Director of Iocane Pty Ltd; Chair of Data Action Pty Ltd; Chair of Humanee Pty Ltd; Chair of Guildhouse.
  • Current Roles: Facilitator for the Australian Institute of Company Directors Company Directors Course and Programs.

Robert Patterson

  • Director and member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
  • Funds SA Director since September 2015.
  • Robert Patterson brings to the Board substantial private sector experience and expertise, particularly in the areas of investment management, governance and accounting. In this regard, he has held executive roles with Argo Investments Limited including Company Secretary, Chief Executive and Managing Director. 
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Director of Vanguard Management Pty Ltd; Member of The Law Society of South Australia Investment Committee; Master of Coopers Brewery Foundation Incorporated; Westminster School Foundation Incorporated Investment Committee and Member of the Ardmillan Place Nominees Pty Ltd. Management Committee.

Kathryn Presser

  • Director and Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee
  • Funds SA Director since December 2014.
  • Kathryn Presser brings to the Board extensive experience in all aspects of financial, risk and management accounting. She has widespread company secretarial experience in public listed and private companies in a wide range of industries and, in particular, over 18 years’ experience at Beach Energy Limited. She also has broad governance and legislative experience through company director positions.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Independent Chair, Department of Treasury and Finance Risk and Performance Committee; Director of KP Advisory Pty Ltd, Police Credit Union SA & NT, and South Australian Government Financing Authority (SAFA); Council Member of the University of Adelaide and Walford Anglican School for Girls.

Judith Smith

  • Director and member of the Audit & Risk Committee.
  • Funds SA Director since July 2018.
  • Judith Smith brings extensive knowledge and experience in investment and funds management, with a strong governance and risk focus. During her career, Ms Smith has worked in significant roles responsible for evaluating and investing in listed and unlisted companies, and is currently the member of a number of boards and investment committees.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: Non-Executive Board Member, Scale Investors Limited; Committee Member, South Australian Venture Capital Fund; Non-Executive Director and Chair, Audit & Risk Committee, Universal Biosensors Inc.; Non-Executive Director, LUCRF Trustees; Non-Executive Director and Chair, Risk & Audit Committee, Acorn Capital Investment Fund Limited.

Leah York

  • Director and member of the Human Resources Committee.
  • Funds SA Director since May 2018. She is the director nominated by the South Australian Government Superannuation Federation.
  • Leah York brings to the Board expertise in law and education within both the public and not for profit sectors.
  • Current Directorships or equivalent: President, South Australian Government Superannuation Federation; Deputy Director, Super SA Board and the Southern Select Super Corporation Board.
  • Current roles: Secretary, Australian Education Union (SA Branch)